Lure Of The Year & Annual Awards


Each year awards are presented for several categories at the Australian Lure Fly & Outdoors Expo.

The categories have grown over the years to challenge Aussie lure makers to try different lure types. Winning a Lure Of The Year Awards at the Expo is a sure fire way to get a brand known across the country which = demand & sales.

Hall of Fame

From time to time we acknowledge those people who have made a lasting impact on lure fishing in Australia. Legends like Rod Harrison, John Bethune & Rex Hunt have been inducted in the past.

Legend lure makers both past & present have been acknowledged for their life time of lure making efforts in the face of rising imported (often cheap) lures. Lure Legends like Peter Newell (posthumous), Trevor McFeeters, Alan Dolan, Paul Kneller & Anthony Curtis are just some of those awarded Hall of Fame status.

Some past Inductees into the Australia Lure & Fly Hall Of Fame

Rod Harrison

Trevor McFeeters

Peter Pakula

Paul Kneller

Bob Styan

Glen & Sue Casey

Steve Morgan

Alan Dolan

John Bethune

Jack Erskine

Anthony Curtis

Eric Moller

Malcolm Douglas

Rex Hunt

Peter Newell

“The Expo is a huge event for Aussie lure makers to get together and show our lures. To meet customers and catch up with fellow makers. Sharing knowledge and socialising is a highlight.”

Matt Fraser - Bramabah Lures

Proudly supported by the Queensland Government